The Complete Novels (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)


Originally published March 28, 2006

Your rating:

Save to Queue:

Average rating:
4.62 (81 votes)

Buy on Amazon


Now in Penguin Classics-a treasure trove of Jane Austen's novels

View our Austen-mania feature page here.

Few novelists have conveyed the subtleties and nuances of their own social milieu with the wit and insight of Jane Austen. Here in one volume are her seven great novels: Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey, Persuasion, and Lady Susan. Through her vivacious and spirited heroines and their circle, Austen vividly portrays English middle-class life as the eighteenth century came to a close and the nineteenth century began. Each of the novels is a love story and a story about marriage—marriage for love, for financial security, for social status. But they are not romances; ironic, comic, and wise, they are masterly evocations of the society Jane Austen observed. This beautiful volume covers the literary career of one of England’s finest prose stylists of any century.

A Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition with French flaps and luxurious packagingFeatures the definitive Penguin Classics texts recommended by the Jane Austen SocietyNew introduction by bestselling author of The Jane Austen Book Club Karen Joy Fowler

@DarcyLover1815 How come I got so hot and sticky under my petticoat when I danced with Knightley? Best not to think about it. Not. At. All.

From Twitterature: The World's Greatest Books in Twenty Tweets or Less

Watch a Video featuring The Complete Novels

Recommended if you like this

Jane Austen

Your rating: 0

Jane Austen

Your rating: 0